World Shogi Forum

World Shogi Forum > Shogi in General > Promotion Rules

Promotion Rules
szethsons (1590) 2017-03-10 14:23
Am I required to move a piece when it is in the promotion zone to promote it, or can I keep it in the same spot and just promote it? 
1: kmullin (1100) 2017-03-10 23:54
Yes, you must the piece must either move into the promotion zone, move within the promotion zone, or move out of the promotion zone in order to promote. In other words, promotion must co-occur with movement.

You can't promote a piece in situ as a turn.